Well here it is the dead middle of summer and I can’t stop thinking about my sadly neglected blog…not for lack of content or inspiration…just a lack of time.  These long summer days have been filled with everything and nothing in particular…lots of busy-ness in my opinion and a few moments of awesome…

I’ll try to cover the moments of awesome here and relieve my conscience of the need to ‘catch up’ at the same time…so that we can begin spending some time together again!

I’ve made not one but three trips to New Orleans in recent months, one to catch a boat…one for work and one for seemingly endless exploration into the world of food, mimosas, naps and 103% humidity…the first time I reeked out completely and met this foodie legend…he’s basically Channing Tatum for foodies…

Emeril Lagasse at Emeril's New Orleans
Emeril Lagasse at Emeril’s New Orleans

The Second time we got on a boat after a quick brunch and a hurricane…but the third visit was a little more laid back thanks to a hospitable friend I got a carefree weekend in best Southern Foodie Town we have!

BBQ Shrimp and Grits at Muriel's Sunday Jazz Brunch
BBQ Shrimp and Grits at Muriel’s Sunday Jazz Brunch
Charcuterie & Champagne at St. James Cheese Company
Charcuterie & Champagne at St. James Cheese Company
Red Fish Cakes & 25 cent Martinis at Commander's Palace
Red Fish Cakes & 25 cent Martinis at Commander’s Palace

I came home with a few extra pounds to lose but it was well worth it…these pics are just a few if the diet crimes and misdemeanors that took place…for the full story in pics follow me on instagram @everydayactive.

In the meantime we have celebrated a few birthdays and I’ve made a few cakes….

Time Spent in the Kitchen is Never Wasted...
Time Spent in the Kitchen is Never Wasted…

We had a few baby showers for my two best running buddies who decided have babies at the same time…one little snuggle nugget is two months old and the next is due in just 2 1/2 weeks….I am now a shareholder in the BOB Running Stroller Company…

Party for the Future Son of a Kitchen Ninja and Running Buddy...
Party for the Future Son of a Kitchen Ninja and Running Buddy…
The Good Stuff...
The Good Stuff…

and now that you’re all wondering why I don’t change the name of this blog to ‘How to Eat you Way Through the Summer’ let’s move onto reality…seems I have the least motivation to maintain my lifestyle goals during the long, hot and sluggish days of summer. When I should be the most concerned with nutrition and exercise…I become the least.  Alas the weather here in the good ole’ south as been miraculously mild in spite of the locust sized mosquitos and strong storms. So my mindset begins to shift towards fall running and half marathons again…and its time…

I have my SmartCoach plan in place and I’m trying to get my mind right…the miles will not run themselves…and frankly I need the stress relief from the long runs…

Do you ever have this problem? Apathy towards to gym and your fitness routine? What do you do to break out of a rut and spice up the process? I don’t have the tried and true answer here…but I’m am working on it and will keep you posted on the progress. I can tell you one thing…for me it begins with reigning in the diet…once I stop looking at everyday as a cheat day the fitness seems to follow.

Let’s talk again soon…seriously…I’ve been cooking A LOT, and some good recipes are forthcoming!

