A Moment of Greatness…and my thoughts about Boston….just a little road mapping for you.

Let’s begin at the beginning…shall we?

Since I was given the opportunity to challenge myself physically, mentally and spiritually through a failed relationship with mono, I was forced to sit out the first two half marathons I had planned for this year. I was also forced to slow my workouts/training to a crawl just to keep up with daily life. The adjusted goal was always to be fit/well enough to run in DC (more about that later)…in the days leading up to the Inaugural Nike Women’s Half Marathon in our nation’s capitol, I was feeling doubting myself about the distance. So I decided to run a local half with the girls the weekend before DC to ‘break the seal’ off 13.1….

The Doc Rock & Run Half Marathon was only days after the Boston Marathon bombing and it continued to weigh heavily on our minds…especially as runners….

We Ran For Boston….

That's what we do...
That’s what we do…

I dressed like a cheerleader…for some reason…

Go! Fight! Win!
Go! Fight! Win!

Did the funky chicken in EVERY race photo…

Awesomely Weird Race Pose
Awesomely Weird Race Pose

I had a moment of true ATHLETIC GREATNESS….

Requirements: Arms Flexed, Hair Blowing in the Wind, Serious Look of Determination, Long Stride...
Capturing Athletic Greatness: Arms Flexed, Hair Blowing in the Wind, Serious Look of Determination, Long Stride…

And then you see my finish time…only to realize this might have been my single shining moment in the entire race…

I Heart Photo Editing!
I Heart Photo Editing!

The moral of this story is that even if your slow…your friends still wait at the finish line, compliment your hair and threaten to steal your new race skirt…my motto: what one lacks in speed, one recovers in fashion! AND, you still get breakfast at Sue’s Kitchen where the home fries are hot and the biscuits homemade!

Time for BREAKFAST!
Time for BREAKFAST!

Thought on Boston:

In lieu of articulating a knee jerk reaction to the tragic events that took place at the Boston Marathon, I’ve let this ordeal marinate in my mind for a few weeks. Ultimately, one act of terrorism is no more earth shattering or deplorable than another, but given the circumstances surrounding this one…it hit close to home.

I will probably NEVER be fast enough to run Boston, qualifying alone is an honor and as the sport grows it continues to get more and more difficult just to hit your cut off time. That said, the heart of a runner is pretty universal, we are peace loving people who run long painful distances for fun, we are determined, accepting, tenacious and self deprecating…it breaks my heart that the same Boston Finishers became victims almost immediately after completing a race of bucket list proportions. The irony is sick, the perpetrators heartless and the whole thing reaches a new level of unfair.

BUT…the overwhelming realization I am left with is simple…

every day…every run…every mile…is a gift,

we do not own this life or the roads we travel down…

but we are blessed to be on the journey with people who change our lives forever.

It seems disrespectful to speak about how much it must hurt or how hard it must be to lose a loved one or have ones’ live permanently altered after a tragic life event…so I won’t. What is will say is this, life is messy and unpredictable…sometimes it’s scary…but I rest in a faith that lives beyond the temporary trappings of this world and regardless of what faith is to you, my hope is simply that you have it…in yourself, your fellow man, your creator and in your ability to overcome whatever obstacles that are put before.

The Heart of a Runner is the Heart of an Overcomer…

Keep Calm and Keep Running…

Boston, we will keep running strong!

