So yesterday, my dear friend Kelly had a birthday…

Kelly is one of my many friends that is a much better distance runner than I am, however we share a love of the same hobbies and interests in food, fitness, fashion and faith.  Rarely do we need much of an excuse to seek out amazing food or to deviate from our otherwise (70%+/- of the time) healthy-ish diets…but a birthday is always a reason to go all out!  So we did!

If you’ve never heard of it, Restaurant Iris in Midtown Memphis is one of, if not the best the city has to offer and in a land of FEW fine dining opportunities…Iris has set the bar high!  We were greeted by this….in each of our menus…signed by none other than Chef Kelly English!

We all bravely proceeded into the deeper realms of gluttony beginning with the appetizers…I had the Lobster Knuckle Sandwich…

Followed by a round of Gulf Oysters for the table, prepared in a béchamel and parmesan topped with bread crumbs and finished in the oven…

For my main, I choose Seared Scallops prepared with farm fresh black eyed peas and smothered in Benton’s Bacon, finished with Roasted Cherry Tomatoes…

And Finally, for dessert, we all shared the Hello Dolly and Bread Pudding…

Notice it’s literally floating in the richest butter caramel ever!!!

And Kelly with her ‘Happy Birthday’ Hello Dolly with was some magical concoction of Chocolate cake, coconut, pecans and vanilla ice cream…

Finally, after I begged Jeff, our waiter for the evening and the manager of Iris, the Chef stepped out of the kitchen for a photo with three comatose girls, giddy from sugar…ok maybe that was just me.. 😉

Thank you Iris for another amazing dining experience….

And this morning, when I text Kelly to see how her day was going…I sheepishly asked her if she wanted to run later…you know…when it cools off…her reply put me in my place…’Ooh, I’m already at mile 7 right now, today is my long run…’  Ok, I’m still in my pj’s luxuriating about the sheer grandeur of my calorie consumption from the previous night and Kelly was sweating it out on the pavement…but this is why we are friends and what I have come to respect over the last 6 months…Rarely will you get more than a few sentences out of her…but when it comes to work…SHE JUST DOES IT.  Kelly is a fierce spirit with a gentle persona…and one of the many reasons I run….to meet people with her kind of resolve!

HAPPY BIRTHDAY KELLY!!!!!! Thanks for inspiring me and the people around you to be fearless, fit and hungry for more.

Ok, now time for me to stop talking and go get my sweat on…have a great weekend!!!!

Who inspires you????

